index

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all

Coming soon

Our books

Elric: The Fortress of the Pearl

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Feared by enemies and friends alike, Elric of Melnibone walks a lonely path among the worlds of the multiverse. The destroyer of his own cruel and ancient race, as well as its final ruler, Elric is the bearer of a destiny as dark and cursed as the vampiric sword he carries - the sentient black blade known as Stormbringer.With an introduction and a short story by Neil Gaiman, and containing complete novels as well as associated short stories, this collection presents Moorcock's greatest creation in a revised and approved order.
  • More

The Dancers At The End of Time

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
'What follows, then, is the story of Jherek Carnelian, who did not know the meaning of morality, and Mrs Amelia Underwood, who knew everything about it.' In a decaying far, far future, where everything and anything is possible, the citizens of the End of Time while away their days in an exuberance of wild parties, outlandish competitions and emotionless affairs. At the world's end, all love is timeless and all age-old disputes irrelevant. However Jherek Carnelian, a bemused denizen of the End of Time, is in danger of taking reality too seriously, and grows tired of his pleasures. So when love mysteriously blooms between Mrs Amelia Underwood, transported unwillingly from the nineteenth century, and Carnelian, only one question matters. Is his love true, or is it just another attempt to stave off the boredom that ultimate power and the End of Time bring? Contains An Alien Heat, The Hollow Lands and The End of All Songs

Elric of Melniboné and Other Stories

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gollancz is very proud to present the author's definitive editions of the saga of Elric, the last emperor of Melnibon?. Michael Moorcock and his long-time friend and bibliographer John Davey have collaborated to produce the most consistent and coherent narrative from the disparate novels, novellas, short stories and non-fiction about Elric. From his early life in Melnibon? all the way through to his final days, these seven volumes will be the definitive telling of the albino prince's story. Elric is one of the great creations of modern fantasy, and has inspired legions of imitators. If you know his story already, then this definitive edition will finally let you read the entire saga in the author's preferred order. If you've never experienced the chronicles of the albino with the soul-sucking sword, then this is the perfect place to start.

Hawkmoon: Count Brass

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
'War, albeit with the Dark Empire, was clean compared to this...' Everything that Dorian Hawkmoon ever loved will be torn away from him, its very existence and memory wiped out for ever... The Eternal Champion must test the limits of reality in a desperate bid to regain a lost love. But first Hawkmoon, Elric, Corum and others must pool their strength - and their swords - to bring about the most mighty change in the order of the multiverse. Contains Count Brass, The Champion of Garathorn and The Quest for Tanelorn

Gloriana; or, The Unfulfill'd Queen

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gloriana rules an Albion whose empire embraces America and most of Asia. A new Golden Age of peace, enlightenment and prosperity has dawned. Gloriana is Albion and Albion is Gloriana; if one falls, so too will the other. And Gloriana is oppressed by the burden this places upon her - and by the fact that she remains incapable of orgasm. The maintenance of the delicate balance that keeps Albion and Gloriana thriving depends on Montfallcon, Gloriana's Chancellor, and on his network of spies and assassins - in particular on Quire, cold hearted seducer of virtue and murderer of innocence. When Quire falls out with Montfallcon, he forms an alliance with his greatest enemy and conceives a plan to ruin Gloriana, destroy Albion, the empire and the Golden Age itself. But even the utterly ruthless Quire does not fully understand what he has set in motion when he persuades the Queen to fall in love with him... Moorcock's masterly evocation of Gloriana's strange and secretive palace and of a vibrant London make this one of his most powerful and memorable novels.

Sojan the Swordsman

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Sojan the Swordsman is Michael Moorcock's very first published character, the precursor to the Eternal Champion. Heavily influenced by the pulp tales of Robert E. Howard and Edgar Rice Burroughs, this is the tale of the hero Sojan Shieldbearer as he travels across the planet Zylor encountering strange races and even stranger monsters in a fast-paced adventure in the tradition of John Carter of Mars and Esau Cairns of Almuric.

Hawkmoon: The History of the Runestaff

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
The earth has grown old, her landscapes mellow, her people lost in a brooding dream. It is an age of antique cities, scientific sorcery, crystal machines, great flying engines with mechanical wings. And the armies of the Dark Empire are relentlessly taking over the once-peaceful city states, ravaging and destroying as they advance, mile by brutal mile . . . The Dark Empire has humiliated and multilated Dorian Hawkmoon, but it cannot rob him of his two consuming passions: his love for Yisselda of Brass and his hatred of her ruthless suitor Meliadus. But before he can defy the Dark Empire and win the beauteous Yisselda, he must seek the Runestaff, a quest that will send him into barbaric wonder and perverse evil . . . and only if he succeeds will he avert the doom of all the world . . .This volume brings together all four volumes of Hawkmoon's remarkable adventure.

Corum: The Prince With the Silver Hand

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Prince Corum is the last of the Vadhagh, his family and people brutally slain by the Mabden. Vowing to wreak vengeance on the killers, Corum sets out on his terrible quest only to fall in love with a beautiful Mabden woman, and to confront the fury of the Lords of Chaos. For they fear that he is the hero who could tip the balance in their cataclysmic war with the forces of Law and free his world from Chaos's vicious grip. His epic struggle against them and his ultimate victory is only bought at a considerable price. Moorcock's evocation of a rich, dark world, a time of magic, phantasms, cities in the sky, oceans of light and wild flying beasts of bronze is one of the pinnacles of modern imaginative literature.

The Golden Barge

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Jephraim Tallow went naked to his mirror and viewed his strange body - stranger now for the absence of a navel. The blood had gone and so had his navel. Tallow deliberated upon this discovery and then, frowning, returned to bed.A number of hours later, Tallow awoke, put his hand into his mouth and found no blood, slid his large hand down his scrawny length and found no navel. He sighed and arose, donned his sackcloth clothes, opened the door of the hovel and looked out into the dark day full of mist. The mist was coming off the river, close by.This is the story of Jephraim Tallow's obsession with a mysterious golden barge, which he follows down-river, in the belief that, should he be able to board it, the answers to the mystery of his existence will be made clear.

The Distant Suns

By Michael Moorcock, Philip James
Authors:
Michael Moorcock, Philip James
It is the 21st century and Earth is overcrowded, underfed and teetering on the brink of worldwide chaos. Their best and last hope rests among the stars, in finding another world able to sustain human life. Enter Colonel Jerry Cornelius, hero and adventurer extraordinaire. Along with his wife Cathy and good friend, Professor Frank Marek, he will brave the madness of space and the dangers of an alien world. But there is more to this new world than meets the eye. Secrets are buried here, in its earth and in its history. Uncovering them could hold the keys to planet Earth's salvation as well as its past. But time is against Jerry Cornelius. His friend has gone mad, his wife has gone missing, and with each tick of the clock planet Earth draws closer to its end. Bereft of friends, loved ones, and all he has ever known, Jerry Cornelius will hold the fates of two worlds in his hands. A solution will require all his legendary strength, intelligence and courage ... and even that might not be enough in the end.

Destiny's Brother

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
'I am Oona, the shape-taker, Grafin von Bek, daughter of Oone the Dreamthief and Elric, Sorcerer Emperor of Melnibon?'Ulric von Bek, now married to Oona, the Daughter of Dreams, has been abducted by a band of spectral natives, while travelling through Canada.Oona gives chase, en route to the Skrayling Oak which contains all realities, to brave the maelstrom of a mythic America - where malign forces try to pitch her against Elric, an aspect of the Eternal Champion and her father.Meanwhile, the captured Ulric finds himself once more in the multiverse where finally he is reunited with his alternate self, Elric, and his wife, Oona. There, the three of them must take arms against an impossible enemy, bent on destroying the Skrayling Oak. For if the tree falls, so too does the multiverse . . .
  • More

Daughter of Dreams

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
'My name is Ulric, Graf von Bek, and I am the last of my earthly line.'As Nazism engulfs the Fatherland, the albino Ulric von Bek battles to keep the occult blade Ravenbrand from being taken by Adolf Hitler.As an inhuman army engulfs the eternal city of Tanelorn, the legendary albino Elric, last of the sorcerer-kings of Melnibon?, fights to keep his black sword Stormbringer from the grasp of Gaynor the Damned.Failure for both puts the entire multiverse at risk, and the separate heroes of two worlds must now become the single champion of all worlds. Elric and Ulric mustmerge their lives and souls and become one, trusting their destinies to each other - and to Oona, the mysterious Daughter of Dreams . . .
  • More

The Chinese Agent

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Arthur Hodgkiss - a master gem thief - is in London, about to realise his lifelong ambition to steal the Crown Jewels. But he is mistaken for Chinese agent, Kung Fu Tzu, and is unwittingly given a package containing stolen top secret government plans. Enter British Intelligence who put their top man on the job: the suave, fearless ladies' man, Jerry Cornell. There ensues a chaotic comedy of errors in which Jerry Cornell pursues Kung Fu Tzu, the titular Chinese agent, who is in turn pursuing Arthur Hodgkiss, who was given the secret plans for which Cornell is pursuing Kung Fu Tzu. In this perfect circle of bluff and counter-bluff, the only one thing that is certain is that nothing can be known for sure.